Celebrate Mom & Dad

We all know moms and dads should be celebrated every day, but what better holiday than Mother’s Day and Father’s Day to go the extra mile by making them a card instead of letting Hallmark do all the work. Here are two ideas that I sent to my parents and parents-in-law.

I found this new adhesive fabric, which I absolutely love and I’m already thinking of all the uses I’ll have for it for my little one. Here, I cut out letters, adhered them and then sewed two pieces of card stock together. In order to hide the stitching I wrapped the top with ribbon. Inside, I used some baker’s twine to create a heart vine and finished it off with a flag that says, “bonne fete.” This one was for my mother-in-law, so it’s in French.

Mother's Day Card

{click to enlarge the image}

I always find it hard to create cards for men, so for Father’s Day I went with the traditional shirt and tie and I love the way it came out. I cut out some white construction paper in the size that would fit into my envelope and then cut another piece of paper to lay over the top, folded over the corner to resemble a jacket and then added the stitching to the lapel and the pocket, as well as cutting a slot to insert the pocket square. The pocket square is tissue paper, but I also think it would be cute to use a real cloth pocket square.  I used double-sided tape to adhere the jacket to the card. Inside I added a cute tie and a message.

Father's Day Card

Bonne Fête!

2 thoughts on “Celebrate Mom & Dad

Leave a Reply

