Happy Birthday, Cupcake

Happy Birthday Cupcake

I’m a bit obsessed with embroidery currently, using it wherever and whenever I can. I find it’s a forgiving art when you make mistakes and adds dimension and texture to just about anything. It’s also relatively easy to do.

What you need:

  • Embroidery thread in various colors
  • Needle – I used a regular sewing needle for this project
  • Card stock
  • Double-sided tape

To begin, I drew a simple line drawing of a cupcake and then I poked holes with the needle along the outline of the drawing. I started with the base of the cupcake using a simple split stitch (how to video here). I also used this stitch for the frosting and the cherry stem. I added some sprinkles with French knots and then just stitched back and forth for the cherry.

I outlined the card with some thread and it also served as my binding when attaching the back side of the card. I added a different colored piece of card stock with double-sided tape to the back of the card I sewed the cupcake to in order to hide the stitching.

It was super simple and I love the way it turned out. The split stitch is one of the only stitches you really need to know in embroidery, which I love. I’m on to embroidering a canvas for my baby’s nursery, which I’ll share when it’s complete.

Happy Stitching!

Leave a Reply

